History Made As Arizona Senators Sworn In

By Jimmy Jenkins
Published: Thursday, January 3, 2019 - 3:39pm

For the first time, Arizona will be represented by two women in the United States Senate.

After a bitter contest to replace former Sen. Jeff Flake, Kyrsten Sinema was elected to his seat. She will be the first Democrat Arizona sends to the upper chamber in 30 years.

The two new Arizona senators are among a historic number of women in the new Congress, including newly elected Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi.

Gov. Doug Ducey selected Sinema’s opponent for Flake’s seat, Congresswoman Martha McSally, to replace outgoing Sen. Jon Kyl, who filled in briefly after Sen. John McCain died.

Both Sinema and and McSally were sworn into office on Thursday. Sinema will serve as the state’s senior senator.

McSally will face voters again in 2020 when a special election is held to fill the remainder of McCain’s term. The seat will be up again for a full 6 years in 2022.