Phoenix To Get A New Councilmember

Published: Tuesday, August 21, 2018 - 5:10am

The council will appoint someone to represent District 8 on Tuesday,  which covers parts of downtown, south Phoenix and Laveen.

Sixteen people filed paperwork to fill the seat and will get to address the council during Tuesday's meeting. The council will then vote on a person to represent District 8 until next year’s special election.

The city’s website lists interested candidates in alphabetical order:

  • Gilbert Arvizu
  • Margarito Blancas
  • George B. Brooks, Jr.
  • Isabel Chavez
  • Victor J. Contreras
  • Wesley W. Harris
  • Abraham James
  • Michael Johnson
  • Michael J. Langley
  • Jarrett B. Maupin, Jr.
  • R. Michael McQuaid
  • Felicita M. Mendoza
  • Lawrence Robinson
  • Camaron Stevenson
  • Warren Stewart, Jr.
  • Onesimus A. Strachan

The seat became vacant after Kate Gallego resigned to run for mayor. She’ll face former District 5 Councilman Daniel Valenzuela along with two other mayoral candidates certified for November’s ballot: Moses Sanchez, a former school board member who works for a digital marketing company, and Nicholas Sarwark, chair of the National Libertarian Party and runs a family car dealership.

Earlier this month, the council named Vania Guevara to represent District 5, which covers much of west Phoenix, on an interim basis.

If you like this story, Donate Now!