3 More Arizona Sites Designated International Dark Sky Parks

Published: Tuesday, May 10, 2016 - 12:02pm
Updated: Tuesday, May 10, 2016 - 10:45pm
Elliot Schultz/National Park Service
Wupatki National Monument against the night sky.

Three more places were added to Arizona's growing list of areas recognized for their commitment to darkness.

Sunset Crater Volcano, Walnut Canyon and Wupatki national monuments in northern Arizona were recently designated International Dark Sky Parks by the International Dark-Sky Association (IDA).

IDA, which made the announcement on its website May 4, offers the dark-sky designation to communities, parks, reserves and sanctuaries that combat light pollution with regulations and education.

Arizona now has four dark-sky parks. Oracle State Park in southern Arizona was designation in 2014.

Arizona is also home to four dark-sky communities — Flagstaff, Sedona, Kaibab-Paiute Nation and the Village of Oak Creek, which was added earlier this year.

In 2001, Flagstaff was named the world's first International Dark Sky Community. There are now 14 worldwide.

Arizona Science Desk reporter Melissa Sevigny contributed to this report.