Drought Disaster Declared For Parts Of Nevada, Arizona, Other States

Published: Thursday, January 16, 2014 - 2:39pm

Ranchers and farmers in several Nevada counties will be eligible for federal assistance because of the ongoing drought, and that also applies to some people in Arizona. The U.S Department of Agriculture has declared nine Nevada counties as primary natural disaster areas because of a drought, including Clark, Lyon, Nye, Pershing and Humboldt counties.

In a statement, Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack said he sympathizes with farmers and ranchers who are dealing with the lack of rain and snow and assured them the USDA will stand by them.

The disaster designation means eligible farmers can qualify for low-interest emergency loans from the agriculture department. Counties adjacent to the nine in Nevada are also eligible for assistance, including Mohave County in Arizona, eight counties in California, three in Oregon and one in Idaho.