Action! A Tempe studio tries to get Arizona back into the movie business. And a public land dispute in Utah is playing itself out on billboard.
AZ Health Director To Revise Medical Marijuana Dispensary Regulations
Some medical marijuana users outside the state’s metro areas may soon regain the right to grow their own pot.
The voter-approved Medical Marijuana Law said people with a doctor’s recommendation can get up to two-and-a-half ounces of the drug every two weeks. But, if they live within 25 miles of a dispensary they must get it there. When implemented, there were no dispensaries. Now, almost all of the 56,000 users in the state are within the 25-mile zone.
Yesterday, a judge ruled a Gold Canyon resident was not exempt from that requirement, because there was a dispensary eight miles from his home, even though it was 26 miles away by road. State Health Director Will Humble said it’s not the first time the issue has been raised.
“And I actually agree with them," Humble said. "And so we're in the process right now of revising our regulations. And in those new revised regulations were going to change that definition of 25 miles to by road.”
Humble does believe the 25-mile rule is justified, honoring the intent of voters, to have a state-regulated system.