ESPN is spending $450 million to televise the new college football playoff this season. Analyst John Bacon on what that means for the game.
Tempe Police to look for booster seat law violators
The Tempe Police Department will be looking for violators of Arizona’s new booster seat law, starting this Sunday. KJZZ’s Mark Brodie reports.
MARK BRODIE: Kids between 5 and 8 years old, and shorter than 4'9" now have to be in child restraint seats in Arizona. Tempe police, along with the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, are starting an enforcement effort on Sunday through Sept. 22. Sergeant Steve Carbajal of the Tempe Police Department says officers will be looking for both adults and kids who aren’t buckled up.
STEVE CARBAJAL: Everything will be on a case-by-case basis. But, we want to send the message very strongly that children need to be buckled up, adults need to be buckled up. So, it depends on the officer, but we are looking to reinforce the message through the use of citations, if necessary.
BRODIE: Seat belt laws are secondary offenses in Arizona, meaning offenders can’t be pulled over just for not buckling up. The new booster seat law, though, is a primary offense. That means people can be pulled over for violating it.