Our panelists tell three stories about someone ignoring all the warning signs while reaching for the stars, one of which is true.
Stricter Penalties Sought For Boating While Intoxicated
Arizona is trying to strengthen its laws against people who operate a boat or jet ski while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A bill in the legislature would automatically fine boaters who refuse to take a blood or breath test.
Right now, anyone suspected of operating a boat while drunk can refuse a breath or blood test without a penalty. But, the measure would require sheriff’s deputies and Game and Fish wardens to fine boaters more than $1,200 if they refuse to take the tests in the future.
Alberto Calderon is with the Maricopa County Sheriff’s lake patrol unit. He said it’s a good deterrent.
"They’re probably going to think twice about it if this does go into effect. $1,250, that’s almost twice as much as a first offense OUI, $1,300 plus $1,200, so that’s double if you refuse," said Calderon. "And that’s a lot of money."
Last year, 130 people received citations in Maricopa County for “Operating Under the Influence.” Calderon said nearly a quarter of all boating accidents in the county are alcohol related.
The bill has been approved in the Arizona House. It goes to the Senate next for a vote.