The amazing food of Georgia with Olia Hercules, Milk Street's top 10 cookbooks of the year, porchetta comes home, and dressing up the holiday table with Athena Calderone.
New booster seat law to take effect Thursday
Hundreds of new laws will take effect this Thursday in Arizona, and among them is one that will require auto booster seats for kids younger than 8 years old or under 4'9" tall. Auto accidents are one of the leading causes of death of children, and the proper use of a safety seat reduces a child's fatality risk by 71 percent.
Linda Gorman of AAA Arizona says the booster seat law is meant to save lives. "This is a landmark for child passenger safety," Gorman said. "So it goes into effect on Thursday, and it closes the existing law, which allows parents and caregivers to transition children once they reach the age of 5 from a child passenger seat to a seatbelt alone."
Gorman says there is help if you are unable to afford a booster seat. "Booster seats start at around $16, so they’re not too expensive, but there are low-cost and no-cost programs available out there. If you contact your local health department in your county, you can find out how you can obtain one of these seats."
Arizona is the 48th state to pass such a law. Not following the new regulation could result in a $50 fine.